Categories
Kerala Vegeterian dishes South Indian veg Veg Dishes

Malabar parippu (Yellow lentils Kerala style)

Malabar parippu curry, yellow lentils with added flavour of fried onions.

DSCN4492
This dish will be a great accompaniment for rice as well as rotis. Malabar is the northern part of Kerala, where I belong to. The way yellow lentils are cooked in this part of Kerala is very different from other preparations. And let me tell you another secret behind the dish. If you are trying to lose weight and add that extra glow on your face, I strongly recommend this dish for you. The coconut used in preparation, gets you the glow and the fibre from lentils (dal) and coconut takes out that extra fat from you. The amount of oil used in the preparation is very minimal.With all these benefits, you can enjoy great taste also. Try out the dish today itself .Here’s the recipe for you!
Ingredients
Yellow lentils – 250 gm ( Tuvar dal, sambar parippu)
red chilli pdr – 1/2 tsp
turmeric pdr – 1/2 tsp
Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
curry leaves – 2 strands
Greated fresh coconut – 1 cup
Onion – 1 big
Red chillies – 2 nos

( Grind 3/4 cup freshly grated coconut with cumin seeds and keep aside.You need to use thix mix in to the lentils once cooked )
Method
1. Add enough water to lentils to cook smoothly in a cooker. Add turmeric and red chilli powders along with the lentils.( 5 whistles )
2. Once lentils are cooked , open the cooker lid and add the coconut and geera paste from the mixie to the cooked lentils.
3. Mix gently with a spoon and check the consistency. U can add more water according to your preferred consistency.
4. Place the cooker on high flame with the lid open and bring the lentils to boil for 3 minutes.
5. Parippu malabar style is ready and waiting for the seasoning.Seasoning decides the taste of this dish . So, do it carefully.
Seasoning
1. Fry chopped onion and 1/4 cup grated coconut to dark brown. Add red chilli whole and curry leaves in to it. Pour the whole thing straight out of flame to the cooked lentils
2. Crackle mustard seeds in 1 tspn oil and add that too in to the gravy.

Planning to surprise your family with Kerala vegeterian dishes or even Sadya? Then my other posts on Sambar , Avial , Koottu curry, Pachadi, Parippu curry,Puli inji and Payasam will do the magic for you!:)

 

By sarithakumbakkara

Hii, I'm Saritha who is finding it extremely difficult to write a paragraph about myself . I have already written few lines and deleted them too as some where i was sounding a bit underconfident or some times a bit too boasty. I don't like to be either of them as i believe that finding a balance between the above mentioned is the blissful state of mind which i always would prefer to be in.I am trying my best here to give you a clear idea about myself ;)
I belong to God's own country, Kerala and i am a big fan of the cuisine of the state . Professionally i'm a mentor of young minds . As i am married to an Indian air force Pilot, i had been living in various parts of the country. I would love to call myself and my hubby as avid travellers as that's one thing which thrills me and lifts up my mood drastically from 'being balanced yet a little boring ' to 'extremely enthusisatic'.I have two sons (a deadly combination to handle) Aditya 13 and Aarush 7 who are choosy in eating like most of the kids. I love my travels and it gives me amble exposure to taste various cuisines within and outside the country. Socializing and parties have always been a part of our Airforce life and who would not like to see the smile on your guest's face after tasting your food. That's how i started cooking and tasting and experimenting.I had seen he days where i found" breaking an egg without creating a mess" as my life's biggest challenge.(lol ;) ).But past few years in cooking has made me realise that it isn't Rocket science.
List of people who can make use of my blog
1. Newly married brides who are struggling with masalas and utensils.
2. Any one who wants to try out something new and exceptional . ( i knw i knw, here i'm a littlt boasty)
3.Bachelor / forced bachelor boys who has developed acidity due to over indulgence in restaurants .Now it's time to cook a meal for yourselves guys. As i said, it's not rocket science.
4. Any one who loves me . Muah....
Go Ahead.... Try out my recipes and Enjoyyyy....

Leave a comment