Categories
Biriyanis & Rice varieties

Peas Pulav

DSCN4889
Couple of months back, i was interacting with some cute little tiny tots at a function. One of them recited a lovely little poem on mattar (peas) to me. It goes like this.

” Mattar ki phali mein chaar the daane
Ek tha natkhat teen syane
Natkhat phali se nikalkar bhaaga
Chidiya ne choch maari tab woh jaga”

So this poem talks about the four peas in the pod. I like the naughty one which was running away from the pod to explore the world. But what to do? If i ilke it, i need to boil and cook it. Sorry dear, Somewhere you have to pay the fees for being so naughty!
Here’s the recipe of “peas pulao ” which i cooked using one cup of extremely naughty peas.Try out and enjoy. It’s a healthy lunch box item for your naughty sweethearts who goes to school.
Serves 2
prep time – 15 minutes
Ingredients
Fresh green peas – 1 cup
Basmati rice – 1/2 cup
ghee/oil – 2 to 3 tbsp
garlic crushed – 1 tbsp
green chillies – 1 slit
curd- 1/2 cup
red chilli powder – 1/2 tsp
garam masala/Pulao masala – 1 tspn
salt- to taste
onion- 1 small finely chopped
method
1. Boil green peas in 1/2 cup water and salt to taste in a paste on slow flame.
2. In half a cup of curd, mix red chill pdr and garam masala. keep aside.Cook 1/2 cup basmati rice in 1 cup water and keep aside.
3. Heat ghee/oil in a wok/kadai. Add star anise and green cardamom to the heated ghee. Add chopped onions and saute for 2 minutes.
4. Add crushed garlic and saute for 2 minutes. Add green chillies now and mix well
5. Now add the curd mixed with masala which is already kept aside into the wok. Mix well. Now add the cooked peas and saute for a minute.
6.Now goes in the cooked basmati rice.Mix gently. Check the salt. Cover and cook on slow flame for 2 to 3 minutes
7. Enjoy your peas pulao hot with cool raita.

By sarithakumbakkara

Hii, I'm Saritha who is finding it extremely difficult to write a paragraph about myself . I have already written few lines and deleted them too as some where i was sounding a bit underconfident or some times a bit too boasty. I don't like to be either of them as i believe that finding a balance between the above mentioned is the blissful state of mind which i always would prefer to be in.I am trying my best here to give you a clear idea about myself ;)
I belong to God's own country, Kerala and i am a big fan of the cuisine of the state . Professionally i'm a mentor of young minds . As i am married to an Indian air force Pilot, i had been living in various parts of the country. I would love to call myself and my hubby as avid travellers as that's one thing which thrills me and lifts up my mood drastically from 'being balanced yet a little boring ' to 'extremely enthusisatic'.I have two sons (a deadly combination to handle) Aditya 13 and Aarush 7 who are choosy in eating like most of the kids. I love my travels and it gives me amble exposure to taste various cuisines within and outside the country. Socializing and parties have always been a part of our Airforce life and who would not like to see the smile on your guest's face after tasting your food. That's how i started cooking and tasting and experimenting.I had seen he days where i found" breaking an egg without creating a mess" as my life's biggest challenge.(lol ;) ).But past few years in cooking has made me realise that it isn't Rocket science.
List of people who can make use of my blog
1. Newly married brides who are struggling with masalas and utensils.
2. Any one who wants to try out something new and exceptional . ( i knw i knw, here i'm a littlt boasty)
3.Bachelor / forced bachelor boys who has developed acidity due to over indulgence in restaurants .Now it's time to cook a meal for yourselves guys. As i said, it's not rocket science.
4. Any one who loves me . Muah....
Go Ahead.... Try out my recipes and Enjoyyyy....

Leave a comment