Kumbalanga pachadi (Kumbalanga – Ash Gourd, White Gourd in coconut and curd based gravy)

DSCN6642
Pachadi is an inevitable part of Kerala Sadya, feast of Keralites.This dish brings back a lot of nostalgic memories to me. Even though I’m a non-resident of Kerala for many years now, I’m still deeply in love with the cuisine of the state. I want my kids to taste every dish what I’ve tasted in my Traditional platter as those dishes take the credit of giving me a good understanding of different tastes on my palettes.I would want my kids also to enjoy food rather than just filling their tummy with food.Pachadi is served in Kerala Sadya also.
Today I made Winter melon/white gourd pachadi ,prawn curry and bitter gourd fry for lunch. Pachadi is a very simple preparation yet tastes wonderful with rice.

Planning to surprise your family with Kerala vegeterian dishes or even Sadya? Then my other posts on Sambar , Avial , Koottu curry, Pachadi, Parippu curry,Puli inji and Payasam will do the magic for you!:)
DSCN6643
Ingredients
white gourd – 200 gm
freshly grated coconut – 1 cup
green chillies – 2 to 3
mustard seeds – 2 tsp
curry leaves – 1 strand
whole red chilli – 1
Turmeric powder – one pinch
sour curd – 1 cup
Method
1. Chop kumbalanga to nail sized pieces.Add turmeric powder and salt. Cook in half cup water over medium flame.
Keep aside.
2. Grind coconut, green chillies and 1 tea spoon mustard seeds to a slightly coarse paste using curd.
3. Add the ground paste to the boiled Kumbalanga and mix well. Do not boil or cook on heat.
4. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a small pan and add some coconut,mustard seeds, whole red chilli and curry leaves into it. Fry until the coconut turns golden brown and mustard seeds finish crackling.Ad this on top of the kumbalanga mix which you have already made.
5. Serve chilled with steamed rice and papad.

Planning to surprise your family with Kerala vegeterian dishes or even Sadya? Then my other posts on Sambar , Avial , Koottu curry, Pachadi, Parippu curry,Puli inji and Payasam will do the magic for you!:)

7 thoughts on “Kumbalanga pachadi (Kumbalanga – Ash Gourd, White Gourd in coconut and curd based gravy)

Leave a Reply

