Kerala style Prawn and raw mango curry (Cheemmen manga curry)

DSCN6682
Many of my friends and blog followers ask me about my much visible inclination towards sea foods . There is just one reason behind it Sweethearts and that is me being native of a very beautiful coastal area in Kerala. I grew up eating fresh seafood and rice as a staple diet. After getting married to a guy who keeps showing me different corners of the country in every 2 years, I kept on trying out new sea food dishes from those places too. Sadly, last 3 years in Assam was an exception as sea food was very rarely available there. Locals in Assam relish fresh water fish but I couldn’t develop a taste for it. Now I’m living in Hyderabad where sea food is in plenty. So I’m feasting myself with all the sea food I was craving for. 🙂

DSCN6681
This prawn curry is a simple Kerala preparation where raw mango is used to bring that sourness to your dish. It is purely a coconut based gravy and here I’m gonna tell you how to make it.Have a look! 🙂
Ingredients
Dewained clean prawns medium-sized – 200 gms
freshly grated coconut – 1 cup
Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
red chilli pdr – 1 tbsp
turmeric pdr – 1 tsp
raw mango cut into small nail sized pieces – 1/2 cup
onion – one small
method
1. In an earthen pot /wok /kadai add chopped mangoes,turmeric pdr ,red chilli pdr and salt. Add 1 cup water to it and cook in medium flame till it gets tender.
2. Add prawns to this and boil for 2 minutes

114NIKON5
3. Grind coconut and cumin seeds in mixie to a fine paste. Keep it ready before hand to avoid delay in adding to the gravy.
Prawns should not be over cooked as it becomes rubbery due to over cooking.
Mix gently using a spoon and cook it in slow to medium flame for 2 to 3 minutes.Switch off the flame .
5. Heat one table-spoon oil in a small pan and fry onion till it turns dark brown. Add this along with the oil on top of the gravy. Mix gently just before serving
Goes great with rice. Enjoy! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Kerala style Prawn and raw mango curry (Cheemmen manga curry)

Leave a Reply

