Categories
Non Veg Dishes Sea on my table Uncategorized

MANGALORE PRAWN CURRY / YETTI GASSI

Mangalore style delicious spicy prawn curry. Party dish perfect to celebrate your seafood cravings.

Nostalgia : A sentiment or a wistful yearning for the happiness felt in a former time ,place or situation.

Nostalgia is always connected deeply to food memories…atleast in my case. Every dish I cook on a special day or in a special mood definitely has some emotions behind it. I did my graduation from St’Agnes college, Mangalore. So many beautiful memories are still alive and kicking in my mind around Mangalore.The carnivorous me was unlucky to be living in a vegetarian hostel. So every Sunday was looked forward for that restaurant visit to relish the non vegetarian delicacies I was missing throughout the week. Mangalore Prawn curry was one of those favorites of mine. I could order it only on Sunday with a full pocket money status. Today I am cooking Yetti Gassi for lunch and my mind is wondering around the giggles and innocence of my friends. I am so glad that many of us are living in the same city now and are able to get together once in a while.

Recipe of Mangalore Prawn curry /Yetti Gassi.

serves 3 to 4

cooking time 20 minutes

level : Medium difficulty

Spicy

Ingredients

Mangalore special prawn curry.

Spicy and delicious !

Recipe

Ingredients Marinate 500 gms cleaned prawns in turmeric powder and 1/2 tsp black pepper powder,salt

Spice powders

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

2 tsp coriander seeds

10 dried red chillies ..

(less spicy ones…or remove the seeds inside )

masala paste

5 cloves chopped garlic,

1 inch chopped ginger

one big tomato chopped

1 teaspoon spoon tamarind paste

2 table spoons coconut oil

1/2 tsp black mustard seeds

3 green chillies slit

10 curry leaves

one big onion finely chopped

1 cup thick coconut milk

3 table spoons coconut paste ground in mixie using a little water

salt to taste

Watch my video which shows the entire cooking procedure. Click on the link herehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlUmz-pihYE&t=69s

How to make Yetti Gassi /Mangalore prawn curry.

  1. Marinate prawns in salt,turmeric powder and 1/4 tsp black pepper powder.
  2. Heat 1 table spoon oil in a kadai and fry cumin ,coriander seeds and redchillies.
  3. Add a little water into the 2. mixture and grind to a smooth paste.4.Add chopped onions,tomatoes,garlic and ginger to the mixer along with the ground paste in the above step.
  4. Heat 2 table spoon in a wok/kadai and add slit green chillies to it. Now add the ground wet masala 3. into the oil. Add tamarind paste to it. check the salt a.
  5. Now add the marinated prawns into the kadai .Mix well and check the salt.
  6. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes
  7. Now add coconut paste to it and cook for a minute.
  8. Add coconut milk and mix well. Once the curry comes to a boil, simmer for another 5 minutes.
  9. Tempering: Curry is ready . Now heat one tsp oil in a small pan and add mustard seeds to it. Let it crackle and add curry leaves.Add this entire thing to the curry .Mix well and enjoy.Serve with White rice , akki roti or roti .

By sarithakumbakkara

Hii, I'm Saritha who is finding it extremely difficult to write a paragraph about myself . I have already written few lines and deleted them too as some where i was sounding a bit underconfident or some times a bit too boasty. I don't like to be either of them as i believe that finding a balance between the above mentioned is the blissful state of mind which i always would prefer to be in.I am trying my best here to give you a clear idea about myself ;)
I belong to God's own country, Kerala and i am a big fan of the cuisine of the state . Professionally i'm a mentor of young minds . As i am married to an Indian air force Pilot, i had been living in various parts of the country. I would love to call myself and my hubby as avid travellers as that's one thing which thrills me and lifts up my mood drastically from 'being balanced yet a little boring ' to 'extremely enthusisatic'.I have two sons (a deadly combination to handle) Aditya 13 and Aarush 7 who are choosy in eating like most of the kids. I love my travels and it gives me amble exposure to taste various cuisines within and outside the country. Socializing and parties have always been a part of our Airforce life and who would not like to see the smile on your guest's face after tasting your food. That's how i started cooking and tasting and experimenting.I had seen he days where i found" breaking an egg without creating a mess" as my life's biggest challenge.(lol ;) ).But past few years in cooking has made me realise that it isn't Rocket science.
List of people who can make use of my blog
1. Newly married brides who are struggling with masalas and utensils.
2. Any one who wants to try out something new and exceptional . ( i knw i knw, here i'm a littlt boasty)
3.Bachelor / forced bachelor boys who has developed acidity due to over indulgence in restaurants .Now it's time to cook a meal for yourselves guys. As i said, it's not rocket science.
4. Any one who loves me . Muah....
Go Ahead.... Try out my recipes and Enjoyyyy....

One reply on “MANGALORE PRAWN CURRY / YETTI GASSI”

Leave a comment