Categories
Chicken Non Veg Dishes Uncategorized

Mint Chicken-Coconut flavored Super easy party dish.

Flavorful mint chicken cooked in super easy method.

115NIKON1
Being an Air force officer’s wife,I am pretty much used to presenting a decent layout of dishes on the dinner table in short notice. 16 years of my social life in Defense  has given me this confidence . My husband’s course mates from NDA , Colleagues, UNIT types, Station types and my own girl’s circle has given me ample opportunities to celebrate, enjoy good food and  great company. Love them all!
Like most of my Sundays, even today my hubby , in a relaxed tone, told me about the guest who will be reaching my home for lunch in just an hour and a half . I had already made some vegetarian lunch for my family. But that won’t be enough to welcome my guest warmly. So here I am scanning through my refrigerator to get a clue of what to cook !
Voila!!! I have some chicken in my freezer , grated coconut and a bunch of mint leaves . So I decided to cook up all these together with a little more spices. … I have seen some recipes of mint chicken in the net, but decided to cook up something unique . The dish turned out to be finger licking!Happy me!!!
Cuisine Indian
Serves 4
Preparation time 25 minutes
Marination time 15 minutes

Here’s the list of ingredients I used 
Chicken ( Cut into medium sized pieces) – 1 kg
Mint leave – One small bunch
Green chillies – 4
Lemon juice – 3 table spoons
Chilly powder – 1 tea spoon
Pepper powder – 1 tea spoon
Turmeric powder – One pinch
Coriander powder -One table spoon
Green cardamom powder – One tea spoon
Ginger garlic paste – 2 table spoon
Grated coconut – One fistful
Sliced onion – 1 big
Oil – 4 table spoon
salt -to taste
Curd – 2 table spoon

Are you a chicken lover? Then check my other posts for Dragon chicken,  Chicken Xacuti, Restaurant style Butter chicken at home,Murgh Hirwa masala,Kerala chicken stew.

You may even like Grilled chicken recipes in different spices. Hyderabadi Dum chicken is from the Nizam’s cuisine.

How I cooked
Marination
Marinate the clean chicken in one pinch turmeric, 2 table spoon curd and salt.
1. Grind washed mint leaves, green chillies, lemon juice, coconut together to a fine paste using mixie.
2. Heat Oil in a thick bottomed pan . Add sliced onions and saute till pink. Now add ginger garlic paste and saute for 2 minutes.Add turmeric, red chilly, coriander and pepper powders to the pan and saute for 3 minutes on medium heat.
3. Now add the marinated chicken and mix very well. Add some salt.Cover and cook for 4 minutes on slow flame.
4. Open the lid and add the ground coconut paste to the chicken. Mix thoroughly.. Add 1/2 cup water to the pan Bring the whole masala to boil for a minute and then cook on slow flame for 10 minutes. Once the chicken is cooked well, roast the chicken in the pan on high flame till the entire gravy thickens to a dark green colour.
5. Add elaichi powder and switch off the flame.Serve hot with Roti, naan or rice.
Note Please check the salt many times during cooking process to attain perfect balance.

Are you a chicken lover? Then check my other posts for Dragon chicken,  Chicken Xacuti, Restaurant style Butter chicken at home,Murgh Hirwa masala,Kerala chicken stew.

You may even like Grilled chicken recipes in different spices. Hyderabadi Dum chicken is from the Nizam’s cuisine.

By sarithakumbakkara

Hii, I'm Saritha who is finding it extremely difficult to write a paragraph about myself . I have already written few lines and deleted them too as some where i was sounding a bit underconfident or some times a bit too boasty. I don't like to be either of them as i believe that finding a balance between the above mentioned is the blissful state of mind which i always would prefer to be in.I am trying my best here to give you a clear idea about myself ;)
I belong to God's own country, Kerala and i am a big fan of the cuisine of the state . Professionally i'm a mentor of young minds . As i am married to an Indian air force Pilot, i had been living in various parts of the country. I would love to call myself and my hubby as avid travellers as that's one thing which thrills me and lifts up my mood drastically from 'being balanced yet a little boring ' to 'extremely enthusisatic'.I have two sons (a deadly combination to handle) Aditya 13 and Aarush 7 who are choosy in eating like most of the kids. I love my travels and it gives me amble exposure to taste various cuisines within and outside the country. Socializing and parties have always been a part of our Airforce life and who would not like to see the smile on your guest's face after tasting your food. That's how i started cooking and tasting and experimenting.I had seen he days where i found" breaking an egg without creating a mess" as my life's biggest challenge.(lol ;) ).But past few years in cooking has made me realise that it isn't Rocket science.
List of people who can make use of my blog
1. Newly married brides who are struggling with masalas and utensils.
2. Any one who wants to try out something new and exceptional . ( i knw i knw, here i'm a littlt boasty)
3.Bachelor / forced bachelor boys who has developed acidity due to over indulgence in restaurants .Now it's time to cook a meal for yourselves guys. As i said, it's not rocket science.
4. Any one who loves me . Muah....
Go Ahead.... Try out my recipes and Enjoyyyy....

3 replies on “Mint Chicken-Coconut flavored Super easy party dish.”

Leave a comment